All Blogs / Entertainment / Books / New


Shared Terror

51 minutes agoEntertainment / Books : The Millions

“On the level of narrative possibility, I was really drawn to the sense of aloneness that rose from so many of these images—the terrifying possibility of being the last person left on earth, or even the last person left in a neighborhood, a swamp, a freeway. That stark haunting irony of living in a world […]

Do We Really Need More Poetry?

Photo by Michelle Ortega. Used with permission. A wall went viral. Multiple people pinged me about its poetic sentiment. I haven't retweeted it or reshared it. Sometimes I simply want to mull a message before casting my social media vote. Show More Summary

Red Epic by Joshua Clover

Barbara Berman reviews Joshua Clover's Red Epic today in Rumpus Poetry.

True Crime, True Empathy

Why are women the primary consumers of true crime literature while an overwhelming majority of the genre showcases violence towards women? Over at Hazlitt, Casey Johnston has a few ideas about this seemingly irreconcilable paradox. Here is a complementary piece by Ujala Sehgal for The Millions on the female True Detectives of literature.

Book Review: Make Me by Lee Child

It's standard fare for Jack Reacher to wander into a small, seemingly inconsequential town in the Midwest, and Make Me begins no differently when he gets off the train at Mother's Rest simply because he likes the name. He had no place to go, and all the time in the world to get there, so detours cost him nothing. Show More Summary

RedHeadedGirl’s Historical Kitchen: A Dish for Harlots and Ruffians

Isn’t that the best name for a dish you’ve ever heard? This is from a 15th century cookbook by Johannes Bockenheim (last name of various spellings) who was a cook to Pope Martin V. In it, he included notes on what type of person each recipe was best suited for- based on social class and/or nationality. Show More Summary

Second City Cancels More Shows After Fire

Second City announces more delays to its reopening, citing extensive smoke damage.

Saturday Night Romance Event at the Library of Congress Book Festival, and More!

If you’re in the Washington, DC, area and feel like hearing some awesomeness directly fed into your excellent eardrums, heads up! There is a Romance Pavilion at this year’s Library of Congress National Book Festival, which, hell YEAH,...Show More Summary

New Books of Note: September 4, 2015 Edition

1. Wrack Lariat, by Heller Levinson (Black Widow Press). From the preeminent publisher of classical and contemporary surrealist writing comes a new collection by one of the most daring poets operating today. Congratulations are in order...Show More Summary

Sustainable Water: Raising the Level of Water Literacy

Sustainable Water: Raising the Level of Water Literary in California By Jonah Raskin In a state defined by too much or two little water, a small army of California academics keeps a close watch on rainfall, flood, drought, dams, rivers, lakes and the urban, suburban, and rural consumption of H20. Show More Summary

Shakespeare's Secret Legacy

The secret key to mastering life. 'The truth forbidden, in Shakespeare's verse is hidden.' For thousands upon thousands of years great sages, masters, seers, prophets and teachers have been attempting to convey to us the ultimate truth...Show More Summary

The Future of Nostalgia

Margalit Fox's Times obituary of Svetlana Boym, the Curt Hugo Reisinger professor of Slavic languages and literatures and comparative literature at Harvard ("Svetlana Boym, 56, Scholar of Myth and Memory Dies, NYT, 8/22/13) discusses one of her works, The Future of Nostalgia. Show More Summary

Academic Activism

“In a bewildering new trend, it is young rationalist bloggers in Bangladesh who have emerged as the primary target of Islamic extremists.” K. Anis Ahmed writes about the brutal murders of bloggers at the front of the secular movement who have demanded punishment for those committing genocide. Pair with an essay from Hasan Altaf about […]

Bookshelf: New Books on the City After War and After Buffalo

Ross J. Wilson argues that World War I transformed New York from an immigrant hub to an American metropolis, and Laura Pedersen, a transplant from upstate, assesses Manhattan in fond essays.

Emails Give Insight Into National Youth Theater Leader Decision to Cancel Play

An email sent by the National Youth Theater's artistic director that has been made public details concerns over a coming production about young Islamic State recruits.

Messes of Contradiction

Clare Beams reflects on her impressions of Little Women as a child and an adult at Ploughshares. A piece of her essay: “Of course, none of the real Alcott sisters could have fit into the spaces Little Women carved out for them. No real person could…. Real-life girls are messes of contradiction.” You could also […]

Celebrate 150th anniversary of ‘Alice in Wonderland’ in NYC

It's been 150 years since Alice’s journey down the rabbit hole was first published. Here’s a list of highlights in the New York City area.

Newswire: Exclusive Image preview: Virgil tells a tense queersploitation revenge tale

Two years ago, writer Steve Orlando launched a successful Kickstarter campaign to fund his graphic novel Virgil, a queersploitation revenge thriller in the vein of Shaft and Cleopatra Jones starring a closeted Jamaican cop whose world is shattered when he is outed and his boyfriend is abducted. Show More Summary

The Life and Death of Book Club Attempts

For TueNight.comby Marinka (Photo credit: Stocksy.com) I have been in my current book group for almost eight years, and although I love the books and the company of smart women, what I value most about it is that it did not disband as soon as I joined. Show More Summary

The Writer-Detective Team

A writing mentor once told me, "To be a writer [of memoir] is to be a very good detective." Like a detective, the memoir writer finds the tension points, the contradictions, and the core story. After my mother died on Labor Day 2011, I began working on a memoir about overcoming family trauma. Show More Summary

Copyright © 2015 Regator, LLC