All Blogs / Entertainment / Genres / Fantasy / New


The Player of Games

My first experience with Iain M. Banks' Culture cycle was Consider Phlebas back in 2009. Regardless of its shortcomings, I found the novel to be a work of vast scope and rare imagination. The worldbuilding, especially, was fascinating. Show More Summary

‘Fantastic Beasts’ Is Now Available on Blu-ray and DVD!

A reminder to all witches, wizards, and No-Majs: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is now available to own on Blu-ray and DVD! The Blu-ray comes with new special features, including deleted scenes and featurettes. If you’re in the United States, you can order your copy through Amazon here. Canadian and UK fans can order their copies...read more!

Mid-Week Round-Up: Johnny Depp, David Thewlis, Rupert Grint, and More!

Harry Potter and Fantastic Beasts alums are at it again, and we have loads of exciting news to report. Johnny Depp scores a role in an upcoming film and wraps another, David Thewlis has a new trailer out for season three of Fargo, Rupert Grint engages in some self-deprecating hilarity in two video clips, Jason Isaacs...read more!

More inexpensive ebook goodies!

Just saw that you can now get your hands on the digital edition of Sylvain Neuvel's excellent Sleeping Giants for only 1.99$ here.Here's the blurb:A page-turning debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton, World War Z, and The Martian,...Show More Summary

Happy Birthday, Brendan Gleeson!

Sorry, Mr. Gleeson, we just can’t keep quiet knowing there’s cause for celebration! It’s a happy birthday, today, for the man who’s been in Leaky news quite often of late. So we wish Brendan Gleeson another wonderful year–and another year of enjoying him in film! To start off the revelries, we cannot fail to mention his contribution to the...read more!

Interview with Craig Schaefer (Interviewed by Mihir Wanchoo)

Official Author Website Read Fantasy Book Critic's review of The Long Way Down Read Fantasy Book Critic's review of The White Gold Score Read Fantasy Book Critic's review of Redemption Song Read Fantasy Book Critic's review of The Living...Show More Summary

Review of The Burning Page by Genevieve Cogman

The Burning Page, the third book in Genevieve Cogman’s delightful Invisible Library series, is currently available in both the US and the UK. The first installment, The Invisible Library, is an incredibly fun adventure which introduces...Show More Summary

More inexpensive ebook goodies!

You can get your hands on one of science fiction's most beloved classics, William Gibson's Neuromancer, for only 1.99$ here.Here's the blurb:The Matrix is a world within the world, a global consensus-hallucination, the representation...Show More Summary

The two greatest video games of all time get new editions

The two greatest video games of all time (arguably) are both being re-released in spanking new editions fit for modern gamers. First up is StarCraft Remastered. Blizzard have confirmed that they are re-releasing the original, classic...Show More Summary

Quote of the Day

I killed God and I feel empty inside.- SYLVAIN NEUVEL, Waking Gods (Canada, USA, Europe)Looks like this one will be as good as its predecessor!

Win a copy of Ian McDonald's LUNA: WOLF MOON

I received an extra ARC of Ian McDonald's Luna: Wolf Moon, so I'm giving it away to one lucky winner! For more info about this title: Canada, USA, Europe.Here's the blurb:A Dragon is dead.Corta Helio, one of the five family corporations that rule the Moon, has fallen. Show More Summary

Happy Birthday to ‘Goblet of Fire’ Director Mike Newell

Mike Newell,  acclaimed director of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, celebrates his 75th birthday today. Newell is a British director and producer of television and film who won the 1994 Best Director BAFTA for Four Weddings and a Funeral. Prior to his work in the Potterverse, Newell directed a number of other Hollywood...read more!

Daniel Radcliffe’s Stage Run Extended

It looks like the Boy Who Lived will be bringing Shakespearean laughs to the West End stage a little longer this spring than originally planned. Due to the popularity of director David Leveaux’s 50th anniversary presentation of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead, Daniel Radcliffe and company’s run at the Old Vic Theatre has been extended...read more!

‘Fantastic Beasts’ Textbook 2017 Edition Misprint

Select copies of the 2017 edition of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them are a paragraph shorter than they should be. Following Hypable‘s report of the misprint on March 18th, Scholastic acknowledged the error and promised a correct copy to anyone who received a book with the mistake. The error can be found in many of the box-sets that include Quidditch...read more!

Emma Watson’s Book Delivery to New Zealand

Emma Watson adores sharing her love of books with anyone and everyone (just see her feminist book club). Starting in 2012, Books on the Underground (in London) strives to place books like a mobile, public library, allowing anyone to pick up the book and enjoy it – then leave it for someone else to love....read more!

GIVEAWAY: Win a Copy of Shadow Run: Kaitan Chronicles Book 1 by AdriAnne Strickland and Michael Miller

Fantasy Book Critic is excited to offer you a chance to win a copy of Shadow Run by AdriAnne Strickland and Michael Miller. It is the first novel in the Kaitan Chronicles which is like a combination of Firefly meets Dune. Summary ofShow More Summary

Happy Birthday to James Potter and Adrian Rawlins!

It’s a happy birthday for James Potter and the amazing actor who portrayed him in the Harry Potter series, Adrian Rawlins! Rawlins is not only lucky enough to share his birthday with one of the most fondly-remembered wizards of our time, but he also celebrates the wrap of his directorial debut with The Night Season.  The Night...read more!

Bill Nighy Talks ‘Love Actually’ and Red Nose Day

Bill Nighy spoke with Huffington Post in a Build Series interview to promote the highly-anticipated upcoming mini-sequel to the hit classic, Love Actually. The short film is set to air on Red Nose Day and benefit Comic Relief, which works to end child poverty and promote better health and education. Nighy (Rufus Scrimgeour) joins cast...read more!

Bonnie Wright Project in Tribeca Film Festival N.O.W.

For the fourth year in a row, the Tribeca Film Festival will feature a new online work (N.O.W.) section in its line-up, and Bonnie Wright’s web-series Phone Calls is one of the selections! The N.O.W. section showcases 10 independent creators, featured throughout the April 19th to 30th festival run. The projects can be seen online at TribecaFilm.com and get...read more!

"Secrets of the Dragon Tomb: Secrets of the Dragon Tomb Book 1" by Patrick Samphire (Reviewed by Cindy Hannikman)

Visit Patrick Samphire's Website Here OVERVIEW: Mars in 1816 is a world of high society, deadly danger, and strange clockwork machines.Twelve-year-old Edward Sullivan wants to become a spy like the ones he reads about in his favorite magazine, Thrilling Martian Tales, but he’s far too busy keeping his eccentric family from disaster. Show More Summary

Copyright © 2015 Regator, LLC