All Blogs / Entertainment / Music / Indie Music / Popular

New Indie Rock Songs from doubleVee, Innocent Persona, The Sleeping Tongues, Evan Mix, Jack Kotz, Layla Frankel, Liz and the Lovelies

With summer just around the corner, the releases are coming in at a mad pace, and there are plenty of great indie and DIY tracks […] Read more, get songs or stream the entire mix on Indie Rock Cafe

New Music To Delight Your Ears - Mellor

Mellor From: Reading, England I first featured Reading quartet Mellor on the blog exactly two years ago to the day (Fresh Sounds - 24th May 2015) and they've become a favourite of mine with a couple of features since then (Glastonbury Emerging Talent Competition: The Longlist #1, Fresh Sounds 3rd April 2016). Show More Summary

Jlin – “Carbon 7? Video

14 hours agoMusic / Indie Music : Stereogum

Last week, the Indiana producer Jlin released Black Origami, a merciless and uncompromising album that twists Chicago's jittery footwork music into strange new shapes. And now, as SPIN points out, she's shared a video for the album track "Carbon 7" that's just as strange and uncompromising as the music. Director Joji Koyama films dancer and…

Watch Justin Bieber Bungle His #1 Hit “Despacito” Live In NYC

14 hours agoMusic / Indie Music : Stereogum

A guest feature from Justin Bieber helped propel Luis Fonsi and Daddy Yankee’s "Despacito" to become the first Spanish-language #1 single since "Macarena" in 1996, but you shouldn't expect Bieber to break out the Spanish parts on the song live any time soon judging by his pitiful spontaneous performance of it a New York club…

EMA – “Breathalyzer” Video

14 hours agoMusic / Indie Music : Stereogum

This summer, EMA is coming back with the new album Exile In The Outer Ring. The new album follows up 2014's great The Future's Void, and she's said it was "too political" for her old label Matador. After sharing first single "Aryan Nation," EMA has now dropped a video for a new song called "Breathalyzer,"

Watch 2 Chainz & John Kasich Talk Hip-Hop On The View

14 hours agoMusic / Indie Music : Stereogum

2 Chainz was on The View this morning promoting his forthcoming album Pretty Girls Like Trap Music, which resulted in the rap veteran talking politics and hip-hop with none other than Ohio Governor John Kasich. It's pretty cringe-inducing to hear Kasich advising 2 Chainz to "drop the yo" if he ever intends to run for…

Lion Babe – “Hit The Ceiling”

15 hours agoMusic / Indie Music : Stereogum

Lion Babe started out as a blog oddity, but since putting out their debut album, Begin, in early 2016, they've been releasing a lot of material at a rapid pace, and most of it has been pretty good! Last summer, they released their Sun Joint mixtape, and a few months ago they shared "Rockets," the…

Watch Franz Ferdinand Play New Song “Huck & Jim” In Charlotte

15 hours agoMusic / Indie Music : Stereogum

Franz Ferdinand performed in Charlotte, NC last night and played a new song called "Huck & Jim" during their set. A fan captured the song in full and uploaded it to YouTube. Franz Ferdinand also brought out the classic "Take Me Out" and closed the night with "This Fire." Check out footage of "Huck &…

Pet Symmetry – “LTCTLYB”

15 hours agoMusic / Indie Music : Stereogum

Pet Symmetry -- the surging pop-punk band made up of Into It. Over It.'s Evan Weiss, Dowsing's Erik Czaja, and What Gives' Marcus Nuccio -- are releasing their sophomore album, Vision, at the end of the week. We've already heard "Stare Collection" and "You & Me & Mt. Hood" and we talked to the band…

Book Notes - Emma Smith-Stevens "The Australian"

In the Book Notes series, authors create and discuss a music playlist that relates in some way to their recently published book. Previous contributors include Bret Easton Ellis, Kate Christensen, Lauren Groff, T.C. Boyle, Dana Spiotta, Amy Bloom, Aimee...

Gucci Mane & Metro Boomin’s Drop Top Wop Out Friday

15 hours agoMusic / Indie Music : Stereogum

It's been five long months since Gucci Mane released his last proper album The Return Of East Atlanta Santa. In Gucci Time, that is an eternity, even if Gucci has released a ton of new music since that album came out. Thankfully, our long Gucci drought will end on Friday. As The FADER points out,…

Pinact – “Seams”

15 hours agoMusic / Indie Music : Stereogum

Pinact are a Glasgow punk band with major melodic songwriting gifts. On their debut album Stand Still And Rot, those instincts manifested something like Fidlar's shout-along party music slathered in Dinosaur Jr.'s sonic sludge, but it appears they've cleaned up their sound a bit for sophomore album The Part That Know One Knows. New single…

Watch The Kills’ Acoustic Cover Of Rihanna’s “Desperado”

15 hours agoMusic / Indie Music : Stereogum

This year marks the 15th anniversary of Black Rooster, the Kills' debut EP. And they're marking that anniversary next month by releasing a new EP called Echo Home - Non-Electric EP, a recording of an acoustic live-in-studio session that they recently played at New York's Electric Lady studio. That EP includes three Kills songs, and…

Chuck Berry – “Lady B. Goode”

16 hours agoMusic / Indie Music : Stereogum

CHUCK, the final album by the late Chuck Berry, is coming in a few weeks. We've already heard "Big Boys" and "Wonderful Woman," and today a third advance track called "Lady B. Goode" has become available. Presumably it's some kind of sequel to Berry's classic "Johnny B. Goode." Examine it for yourself below. …

The Weeknd – “Tell Your Friends (Extended Remix)” (Feat. Kanye West, Drake, Nas, Ghostface Killah, Belly, & Young Braised)

16 hours agoMusic / Indie Music : Stereogum

The Weeknd's XO label just launched a SoundCloud page, and apparently the people behind the label decided to do so in the grandest fashion possible. One of the first two tracks on the page is a massive 12-minute remix of "Tell Your Friends," the Kanye West-produced single from 2015's Beauty Behind The Madness. The remix…

Dasher – “Sodium”

16 hours agoMusic / Indie Music : Stereogum

After three years, one scrapped album, and one lineup overhaul, Bloomington-via-Atlanta punks Dasher are finally ready to put out their debut album. Sodium will arrive in July on Indiana indie Jagjaguwar, and we've already heard one track from it, the crushing opener "We Know So." Now they've shared the title track, another ferocious onslaught that…

Swet Shop Boys – “Zombie”

16 hours agoMusic / Indie Music : Stereogum

Later this week, Swet Shop Boys, the great trans-Atlantic rap duo of former Das Racist member Heems and screen star Riz Ahmed, will give a wide release to Sufi La, the previously vinyl-only EP that they dropped on Record Store Day. We've already posted the early track "Thas My Girl," and now they've also shared…

new Shabazz Palaces – Since C.A.Y.A.

Here's another new one from Shabazz Palaces' forthcoming LP Quazarz: Born on a Gangster Star, out July 14th via Sub Pop. The Palaceer says about "Since C.A.Y.A.", which features Thundercat on bass: Continue reading…

Shabazz Palaces – “Since C.A.Y.A.” (Feat. Thundercat)

16 hours agoMusic / Indie Music : Stereogum

Three years after the release of Lese Majesty, their last LP, Seattle art-rap greats Shabazz Palaces are planning to release two brand-new albums on the same day this summer. One of those albums is called Quazarz: Born On A Gangster Star, and it's a concept album about a visiting alien. We've already posted the early…

Copyright © 2015 Regator, LLC