All Blogs / Entertainment / Music / New

Chicago metal collective Scientist releasing 'Barbelith' (stream a track)

The band includes musicians from Chicago's thriving metal scene, including former and current members of Yakuza, Taken By The Sun, Making Ghosts, and Boatman's Toll. Continue reading…

The Music of “High Maintenance” Isn’t Your Dad’s Stoner Jams

The show about a weed dealer (that isn’t actually about the weed dealer) extends its multicultural empathy to its soundtrack.

Pional - Temptest

Sounds like: John Talabot, BICEP Song: Pional - Temptest What's so good? Everyday activities which keep a human being occupied are usually chalked down as being mundane. How does one cut down on the amount of time it takes to brush teeth? There's an app for that. Show More Summary

Dizzy – “Pretty Thing”

16 hours agoMusic / Indie Music : Stereogum

Composed of brothers Charlie, Alex, and Mackenzie Spencer plus their friend Katie Munshaw, Dizzy is a dream-pop four-piece from a Oshawa, Ontario whose experiences in suburbia drive their coming-of-age tunes. Today we’re sharing, "Pretty Thing," the follow-up single to their debut, "Swim."

Girls Rituals – “I Know” Video

16 hours agoMusic / Indie Music : Stereogum

Before Im Desperate earlier this month, Girls Rituals had a few releases to their name already, including a 2015 album called Reddishness. That album's being reissued on cassette (which you can pre-order here), and to celebrate, opening track "I Know" is getting a new music video. It's a charmingly low-budget affair where the Toronto-based experimental…

Watch: Dialect - “One Day Our Phones Will Be Rocks”

Yesterday, my hairdresser told me about “something he read online.” Online is a great source of info, no doubt, but… next time, please be more specific about your sources, dear hairdresser. Anyways, apologies, here is what he told me: apparently, bees are dying because of our cell phones. Show More Summary

L.A. Reid Signs Big Boi to New Record Label

The music exec and “X Factor” judge exited Epic Records last year following allegations of sexual harassment

Rainforest Spiritual Enslavement (Dominick Fernow) releases Red Ants Genesis cassette; CHA-CHING: that’ll be one soul, please

Don’t look now — but Dominick Fernow is once again jumping into a phone booth and inconspicuously disrobing from his innocent journalist attire. The purveyor of Hospital Productions has given a fair amount of attention to his Rainforest...Show More Summary

Colter Wall/March 8, 2018/New Brookland Tavern/West Columbia, SC

16 hours agoMusic / Country : Twangville

A near sold out show on a Thursday night in West Columbia, South Carolina is a rare thing. A 22 year old armed only with his guitar doing this is even rarer. But, we’re not talking about any 22 year old, we’re talking about Colter Wall, who’s voice recalls the great baritones of country and western […]

Tuesday’s Blend, a Playlist

16 hours agoMusic / Country : Twangville

Tuesday’s Blend is a Twangville-inspired Folk & Blues playlist blending newer releases with timeless classics and familiar covers. Listen on Spotify, Apple Music, and YouTube.

Readers’ Pick: Chris Smither – Call Me Lucky

16 hours agoMusic / Country : Twangville

You picked Call Me Lucky by folk singer-songwriter, Chris Smither, as your favorite new release for the week of March 2, 2018. Poll Results New Releases Did we miss something? If you feel a new release is missing from our current poll, please let us know in the comments. Readers’ Tops Winter & Spring 2018 CALEB […]

Iceage share "Take it All" from new LP; NYC residency starts tonight

Iceage's Beyondless is out May 4 via Matador and the band are in NYC as we speak, kicking off their four-show, multti-venue ”Opening Nights” residency tonight... Continue reading…

Vivian Leva – Time Is Everything

16 hours agoMusic / Country : Twangville

Terroir.  It’s a word used in wine tasting to denote a wine that really tastes of its place.  On her debut album, Time Is Everything, Virginia-native Vivian Leva delivers the musical equivalent of terroir.  She doesn’t just sing in the style of Appalachia, it oozes from the pores of the songs. The record starts with […]

Classic Country Radio is now Real Roots Radio

16 hours agoMusic / Country : Bluegrass Today

The post Classic Country Radio is now Real Roots Radio appeared first on Bluegrass Today.

Shorties (The Best Books of 2018 So Far, The 30th Anniversary of the Pixies' Surfer Rosa Album, and more)

Real Simple listed the best books of 2018 so far. Reverb reconsidered the Pixies' Surfer Rosa album on its 30th anniversary. OkayAfrica recommended South African multimedia books. NPR Music is streaming The Shacks' debut album Haze. Tyrant features new...

Clipping. In The Studio With JPEGMAFIA

16 hours agoMusic / Indie Music : Stereogum

One of the most exciting new rap voices to emerge in recent years is JPEGMAFIA, who forged his sound in the fires of Baltimore's DIY scene and who currently lives in LA. On records like the new album Veteran, JPEGMAFIA creates a beautiful pile-up, combining intense mash-your-face rap music with collage-style shards of pop culture…

Stream Amen Dunes Freedom

16 hours agoMusic / Indie Music : Stereogum

New York's Amen Dunes are finally about to return with Freedom, their first full-length in almost four years. It's the long-awaited followup to 2014's Love -- an album that engendered a fervent cult following -- and the group has already given fans a few reasons to expect that Freedom could live up the long shadow…

Jesse Malin & "all star lineup" announce 2018 Joe Strummer & The Clash tribute

D Generation member and longtime NYC punk staple Jesse Malin is once again paying tribute to Joe Strummer and The Clash with Summer StrummerJam, which promises an ”All Star Lineup,” and this year it moves from Asbury Park to NYC. Continue reading…

Red Bull Music Festival tickets on sale (Fever Ray, 0PN, more)

Plus: watch the trailer for Oneohtrix Point Never's "M.Y.R.I.A.D." show he's premiering at Park Avenue Armory as part of the fest Continue reading…

Copyright © 2015 Regator, LLC