Discover a new way to find and share stories you'll love… Learn about Reading Desk

All Blogs / Entertainment / Music / Popular

Hurry up! Join the marathon!

16 hours agoMusic / Classical : Sequenza21

Hey Composers! It’s that time of year again, when the ever-intrepid Marvin Rosen climbs into to the saddle for a LONG trip through today’s music; 25 hours of music by composers like — well, like YOU! But if you want to jump on the wagon, you need to get Marvin a recording by December 15th, […]

San Francisco Contemporary Music Players’ Project TenFourteen

16 hours agoMusic / Classical : Sequenza21

The gulf between pop music and “serious” or “new music” can be a big one, and the first concert of the San Francisco Contemporary Music Players 2014-15 season TenFourteen set this in high relief. Put another way, the pleasure principle tends to be the guiding light in pop music which isn’t always the case with […]

Mike Tyson And Earl Sweatshirt Have A Surprisingly Normal Conversation

WordsByEmanuelVinson EarlSweatshirtandMikeTysoninterviewineachotherinthenewissueofhighfashionmagazineHUMANITY.Theinterviewisalittlestrangetobeholdnotbecauseit’stwofamouslyunstableandcombativepublicfiguresgoingtoetotoebutbecausegivenShow More Summary

Janney and Laswell “explore the hidden music”

16 hours agoMusic / Classical : Sequenza21

Just a little “heads-up” — This coming Tuesday, November 25, The Center for Architecture and The Institute for Performance Sculpture will be presenting an inter-disciplinary program that looks interesting. Architect/composer Chrtistopher...Show More Summary

Richard Valitutto at RedCat in Los Angeles

17 hours agoMusic / Classical : Sequenza21

On Tuesday November 11, 2014 Piano Spheres presented a concert by Richard Valitutto entitled NAKHT. The venue was the RedCat performing arts space at Disney Hall in downtown Los Angeles, and the 275 available seats were mostly filled to hear an evening of solo piano nocturnes. This was the first major recital by Richard Valitutto, […]

From Hungary to Oneonta, with Love

17 hours agoMusic / Classical : Sequenza21

On October 11, the Oneonta Concert Association of central New York presented an unforgettable concert by Musicians from Marlboro. For half a century, Vermont’s Marlboro Music School and festival have spawned top-flight, ad-hoc ensembles pairing rising stars in classical music with established names in the field. The fact that the name of Kim Kashkashian, one […]

Ben McKenzie Talks To ELLE Magazine About Tinder, Handcuffs, And The Movie That Made Him Cry

Ben McKenzie stars as Officer James Gordan on FOX’s hit show Gotham. He made his mark on television as Ryan Atwood, the mysterious bad-boy on FOX’s hit show the O.C. ELLE magazine got a hold of the actor, and in an exclusive interview,...Show More Summary

Piano Music of Steve Moshier in Glendale

17 hours agoMusic / Classical : Sequenza21

The Brand Library in Glendale was the site for an evening of piano music by Steve Moshier on Saturday, October 25. Cynthia Law performed three Moshier pieces, including the premiere of Into the Safety of the Abyss (2014). The concert opened with Unchained Melody: Eight Bagatelles for Piano (1999) and the first of these began […]

Gnarwhallaby in Concert at Boston Court Pasadena

17 hours agoMusic / Classical : Sequenza21

The friendly confines of Boston Court in Pasadena was the venue for a concert by Los Angeles-based gnarwhallaby on Saturday, October 4, 2014. The quartet appeared complete with their trademark rock-solid playing and black jumpsuits for the performance of six pieces by European and American composers of new music. The concert opened with Euphorium (1995-96) […]

Experimental Sound Practices Concert at Cal Arts

17 hours agoMusic / Classical : Sequenza21

On Friday October 3, 2014 Cal Arts opened the WaveCave, a new experimental sound installation space and hosted a reunion concert by alumni on campus at the Roy O. Disney Music Hall. The WaveCave occupies a room just off the lobby of the concert hall and is intended to be a permanent venue for sound […]

VIDEO: Kyle Rapps & Hefna Gwap featuring Aaron Cohen’s “Searchin”

Kyle Rapps and Hefna Gwap merge for their European Tic Tacs projects and they’ve now made a video for one of its songs, which features Seattle’s own Aaron Cohen. The press release states “Searchin'” “borrows a slick sample of Roy Ayers’ hit of the same title, as originally featured on the ’71 release off his […]

ETHEL Celebrates 10 Years of Grand Canyon Residency

17 hours agoMusic / Classical : Sequenza21

  For the past decade, the nationally acclaimed string quartet ETHEL has served as the Ensemble-in-Residence of the Grand Canyon Music Festival’s Native American Composer Apprentice Project (NACAP). To date, ETHEL’s residency has impacted...Show More Summary

DJ OP & Styles P ft. Snyp Life, Sauce Money, Fred The Godson, Dave East & Mysonne – 6 Shooter

17 hours agoMusic / Hip Hop & Rap : Nah Right

DJ OP puts together an even 6-pack of Big Apple beasts for “6 Shooter”, a new leak from his upcoming mixtape with Styles P, The Ghost & Da Drunk. Previously: Styles P – White Niggaz

Outside of music — On the role of the audience

17 hours agoMusic / Classical : Sequenza21

[Editor’s note: Samuel Vriezen is a brilliant Dutch composer, performer, poet, polymath… oh, let’s just say the list goes on. I’ve known Samuel — online, at least — for the better part of 15 years now, following his artistic and aesthetic progression, getting into stimulating conversations and sharp smack-downs along the way. Just the other day Samuel […]

Young Scooter – Free Guwop

17 hours agoMusic / Hip Hop & Rap : Nah Right

Young Scooter reps for Gucci Mane on his latest release “Free Guwop”. Previously: Trav ft. Young Scooter – Right Away (Video)

7 Free Maschine Expansions With Every Studio / Maschine / Mikro

17 hours agoMusic / Dance & DJ : DJ TechTools

Tis' the season and Native Instruments has announced a special holiday deal. For a limited time only (until Dec 31st), buy Maschine MK2, Maschine Studio, or Maschine Mikro MK2 and get seven Maschine Expansions free – tailor-made production kits for contemporary and vintage sounds, worth almost $350!

Kid President Encourages America To #BookItForward With The Cast Of ‘Annie’

KidPresidentisoneofmyfavoritelittlehomies.He’sastraightshooter.He’sacomedian.He’smadeBeyonceblush andtalkedshopwiththeotherPresident(Obama).AndcomeFebruary,he’llbeapublishedauthortoboot.Beforethen,however,K.P.stepsbackintothefamiliarroleofinterviewerwherehetossesseveralquestionsbythecastofAnniewithCameronDiaz,JamieFoxx,RoseByrne,QuvenzhaneWallie,andBobbyCannavale.

SXSW Sued By Car Crash Victims’ Families

17 hours agoMusic / Indie Music : Stereogum

The drunk driving crash that left four people dead and almost two dozen injured at this year’s South By Southwest is now being brought to court. The Associated Press reports that seven lawsuits have been filed against the organizations who put together the festival, accusing them of serious safety lapses that led to Rashad Owens [...]

SOME STUFFS: Vault recording from En Nihil is released for first time

Dead Frequency (Danver State Recordings) is an album by En Nihil that was meant to be released five years ago as a way to show the return of his explosive audio destruction, but the project was put to the side and left along. It was then decided to release it in 2014, so here it […]

Copyright © 2011 Regator, LLC