All Blogs / Industries / Education / Library & Research / New


Winter 2017 Issue of Law Library Journal

The Winter 2017 issue of Law Library Journal is now available online. It is published by the American Association of Law Lbraries.Featured articles include: The Law School Library or the Library at the Law School? How Lessons from Other...Show More Summary

Statistics Canada Article on Police Resources in Canada

The Statistics Canada publication Juristat has published an article on Police resources in Canada, 2016.Among the highlights: There were 68,773 police officers in Canada on May 15, 2016. This represents a rate of police strength of 190 officers per 100,000 population and a decline of 1% from the previous year. Show More Summary

Boosting Innovation through Collaboration

The library’s role is constantly evolving. Students expect more, the needs of researchers and faculties continue to change, and budgets always seem to tighten. While these drivers put more pressure on libraries, they also create a huge opportunity for libraries to strengthen their influence and place themselves in the heart of teaching, learning, and research.

Open Access: Advocacy

Widespread acceptance of open access has progressed more slowly than many advocates had hoped. One such advocate, Dr. Peter Suber, explains the barriers and misconceptions, and offers some strategic and practical advice. From its inception, the open access or OA publishing model has had two main driving forces. One is practical—a response to the ubiquitous, […]

The Card Catalog: Books, Cards, and Literary Treasures

Topic: Books Libraries The Card Catalog: Books, Cards, and Literary Treasures The Library of Congress brings booklovers an enriching tribute to the power of the written word and to the history of our most beloved books. Featuring more...Show More Summary

The Voices of Islam | Collection Development

Libraries have a unique opportunity to inform users of the rich and varied experiences of the Islamic world. These 35 sources should be available in most libraries.

Intellectual Property: “New Bill Would Let Trump Pick the Next Register of Copyrights”

UPDATE: The legislation reported on below has been assigned the number H.R. 1695. UPDATE: Read the Full Text of the Legislation (PDF) UPDATE: We’ve added the full text of a statement from the Library Copyright Alliance at the bottom of this post.  —- From Andrew Albanese at Publisher’s Weekly: With a search for the next Register of […]

Gates Foundation Plans to Launch Open Access Publishing Platform Gates Open Research, This Fall

From Nature.com: One of the world’s wealthiest charities, the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation in Seattle, Washington, is set to launch its own open-access publishing venture later this year. The initiative,Gates Open Research, was announced on 23 March and will be modelled on a service begun last year by the London-based biomedical charity, the Wellcome Trust. […]

Kansas: Bill Would Put State Library Under Legislature’s Control

From the Lawrence Journal-World: A bill pending in the Senate would make a big change to an agency that is one of the smallest in state government, yet one that has a big impact on other agencies and communities throughout the state, the Kansas State Library. [Clip] While the State Library is currently under the […]

How Do Other Countries Regulate Marijuana

Now that it appears that the Canadian government will legalize the recreational use of marijuana in Canada by July 1, 2018, it might be interesting to look at what the policies are currently here and how other jurisdictions have handled...Show More Summary

AMICUS National Union Catalogue to be Replaced Under Deal Berween OCLC and Library and Archives Canada

Library and Archives Canada (LAC) has signed a deal with OCLC, the international non-profit library co-operative, to replace AMICUS.AMICUS serves as a national union catalogue, helping users locate materials in hundreds of library collections across the country. Show More Summary

Twitter Town Hall With Chief Judge of British Columbia Provincial Court

The British Columbia Provincial Court’s Chief Judge Thomas Crabtree will host a live Twitter Town Hall on April 6, 2017.People will be able to tweet their questions about the court and the judicial system using the hashtag #AskChiefJudge...Show More Summary

Library People News: Hires, Promotions, Retirements, and Obituaries

Jane Sánche named Law Librarian of Congress; Denise Stephens to become Vice Provost and University Librarian at Washington University, St. Louis; Lisa Wells is the new Executive Director of Pioneer Library System, OK; and more new hires, promotions, retirements, and obituaries from the March 1, 2017 issue of Library Journal.

ALA, PLA, and Cox Communications Partner for Digital Literacy

Cable and Internet service provider Cox Communications has teamed up with the American Library Association, the Public Library Association, and three pilot libraries to launch a new digital literacy website and more.

Finding and Filling Needs | 2017 LibraryAware Community Award

From books to bikes to banks, Mississippi Valley Library District steps up to address critical service gaps.

2017 Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards | Reading Responsibly

On March 23, the Cleveland Foundation (CF) announced the winners of the 82nd annual Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards, established in 1935 by Cleveland poet and philanthropist Edith Anisfield Wolf to honor literary works that confront racism and celebrate diversity. Show More Summary

The Book Thieves

Topic: Books The Book Thieves: The Nazi Looting of Europe's Libraries and the Race to Return a Literary Inheritance For readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working to return the stolen books to their rightful owners. Tweet

Readers’ Advisory Secrets — A Conversation with Becky Spratford

Whether it’s learning to ski or how to sew a straight seam, a great teacher shows contagious enthusiasm while breaking down the skill into manageable pieces. Becky Spratford is no exception.

ALA Partners with Sarah Jessica Parker on Book Club Central

The actress is partnering with the ALA to serve as the Honorary Chair of Book Club Central which is a new online podium of reading resources which includes endorsements, expert book lists, and other content for book club members.

Toiling in Obscurity

The phrase “toiling in obscurity” is an interesting adage used by authors and writers. It is probably in the minds of many librarians—that they are engaged but obscured. Whether you are a new librarian or have been in the system forShow More Summary

Copyright © 2015 Regator, LLC