All Blogs / Industries / Popular


While Environmentalists Celebrate 'Earth Hour,' They Should Thank Fracking for Lowering Emissions

Chelsea Follett On Saturday during “Earth Hour,” millions of people will abstain from using electricity to draw attention to the energy sector’s ecological footprint and other environmental issues. There is heartening news for thoseShow More Summary

ALA, PLA, and Cox Communications Partner for Digital Literacy

Cable and Internet service provider Cox Communications has teamed up with the American Library Association, the Public Library Association, and three pilot libraries to launch a new digital literacy website and more.

“The Story of Asbestos Litigation in Texas and Its National Consequences”

19 minutes agoIndustries / Law : Overlawyered

Texas was once the largest center of asbestos litigation in the U.S., with mass recruitment of workers claiming injury from past exposure although displaying no symptoms. Now, more than 40 years after the landmark Fifth Circuit Borel v. Show More Summary

Love a Children’s Bookstore? Nominate It for the Pannell Award!

19 minutes agoMedia / Publishing : ShelfTalker

Anyone can nominate a favorite bookstore, from customers to staff. The deadline is April 10!

Daily Deal: Microsoft Office Mastery Bundle

19 minutes agoIndustries / Law : Techdirt

Even with the rising popularity of Google Drive and other online productivity apps, Microsoft Office is still king in the corporate world (probably due to inertia more than any other reason). You can brush up on your skills with the $39 Microsoft Office Mastery Bundle. Show More Summary

UFT Executive Board March 27th, 2017

19 minutes agoEducation / Learning : NYC Educator

Note--Most of the Executive Board was in Albany for Lobby Day. Meeting lasted 26 minutes.Howard Schoor welcomes us, points out many members are in Albany or on way back. Minutes—approved.President’s Report—Mulgrew not here.Staff Director’s Report—LeRoy Barr—Education forum successful. Show More Summary

A Tale as Old as Time: Examining Employer-PBM Rebate Relationships for Specialty Drugs

Pharmaceutical manufacturers pay billions in rebates to pharmacy benefit managers (PBMs). These beastly rebates are the largest single component of the gap between a drug’s list price and the net price received by the manufacturer. But...Show More Summary

Finding and Filling Needs | 2017 LibraryAware Community Award

From books to bikes to banks, Mississippi Valley Library District steps up to address critical service gaps.

2017 Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards | Reading Responsibly

On March 23, the Cleveland Foundation (CF) announced the winners of the 82nd annual Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards, established in 1935 by Cleveland poet and philanthropist Edith Anisfield Wolf to honor literary works that confront racism and celebrate diversity. Show More Summary

Kentucky joins Louisiana in adding police to hate-crime protected group list

20 minutes agoIndustries / Law : Overlawyered

A police union’s national campaign continues to bear fruit as Gov. Matt Bevin signed a bill making Kentucky the second state, after Louisiana, to include police as a protected group in hate crime law. For principled conservative opponents...Show More Summary

More Prosecutors Abusing Their Access And Power To Illegally Eavesdrop On Conversations

20 minutes agoIndustries / Law : Techdirt

Last time we checked in with (former) Brooklyn prosecutor Tara Lenich, she was facing state charges for abusing wiretap warrants to listen in on conversations between a police detective and one of her colleagues. This stemmed from what...Show More Summary

The Perspective of Time – Advice for New and Resident Physicians

The tendency to look back and impose self-criticism for the past is an all too common human tendency. A more robust strategy involves looking far ahead – not just dreaming, but making a detailed plan after careful analysis of goals,...

Warming earth threatens to release huge amounts of carbon

United Nations : "21 March 2017 – Rising temperatures could release massive amounts of carbon trapped in the Earth's soil, the United Nations agricultural agency today reported, warning that soil management could make or break climate...Show More Summary

The Book Thieves

Topic: Books The Book Thieves: The Nazi Looting of Europe's Libraries and the Race to Return a Literary Inheritance For readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working to return the stolen books to their rightful owners. Tweet

Tell California Assembly Not To Ignore The First Amendment As It Tries To Ban Fake News

21 minutes agoIndustries / Law : Techdirt

Just last week, we wrote about a fairly insane bill up for consideration in the California Assembly. AB-1104 would effectively make it illegal to post or share any "false or deceptive statement designed to influence" an election. As we noted at the time, this is about as unconstitutional as you could possibly imagine. Show More Summary

Why Nonprofits Need Both Leaders and Managers

In the nonprofit sector the words “leader” and “manager” are sometimes tossed around interchangeably. But the fact is that they are two very different, and equally necessary, elements to an effective and sustainable nonprofit organization. Show More Summary

Donald Trump Keeps Taking Credit For Tech Sector Jobs He Had Absolutely Nothing To Do With

21 minutes agoIndustries / Law : Techdirt

Last week, buried under the fracas surrounding the failed update to the Affordable Care Act, the Trump administration conducted an adorable little stage play few actually noticed. The Administration invited Charter CEO Tom Rutledge to...Show More Summary

Emerging Leaders Need More than Leadership Development

Flickr Image – ImageGroup Note from Beth:    Last year I was honored to partner with Kari Dunn Saratovksy from Third Plateau to facilitate an emerging leadership program to a cohort of leaders who were part of the Packard Foundation’s Science and Conservation portfolio of grantees. … Read More

Deriving Value from Enterprise Systems

Much consternation has been expressed over the years regarding massive enterprise software roll-outs. There are numerous examples in virtually any industry sector one cares to look at. Years ago, when I was working as an analyst in the manufacturing vertical, … Read more ›

Chicago Agrees To Make Red Light Camera System Barely Less Corrupt By Increasing Grace Period By 0.2 Seconds

22 minutes agoIndustries / Law : Techdirt

It's been well-established at this point that red light cameras, those devices that issue tickets and blinding lights to drivers not stopping on red, have always been less about safety and more about the revenue produced by the tickets. Show More Summary

Copyright © 2015 Regator, LLC