Discover a new way to find and share stories you'll love… Learn about Reading Desk

Post Profile

Can Jose Bautista Or Adrian Gonzalez Win The Triple Crown?

No major league baseball player has won the sport's Triple Crown -- leading his league in home runs, RBI and batting average -- since the Red Sox' Carl Yastrzemski in 1967. Perhaps this old-school stat package doesn't intrigue you that much any more, with numbers like SLG, OBA, OPS, OPS+ and WAR, among others, giving a better measure of a player's value. Nevertheless, the Triple Crown does reward power, batting average and ability to drive in runs -- and it's been 44 years since a player has been able to lead his league in all three categories.
read more

See more about: Carl Yastrzemski

Here’s A Cool Miguel Cabrera Triple Crown Infographic

Sports : Total Pro Sports (2 years ago)

With a total of 44 home runs, 139 RBIs and a.330 batting average, the Detroit Tigers’ Miguel Cabrera became the first Major Leaguer to win the Triple Crown for batters since Carl Yastrzemski did it back in 1967. Impressive numbers, ... Read Post

Eat It, Nerds: Miguel Cabrera Won The American League MVP, And It Wasn't Even Close

Sports : Deadspin (2 years ago)

Miguel Cabrera, the Detroit Tigers' big third baseman, hit for the triple crown—.330 batting average, 44 home runs, 139 RBI—in 2012. His triple crown was baseball's first since Carl Yastrzemski's in 1967. Impressive! But it probably... Read Post

Adrian Gonzalez: 5 Reasons Boston's Slugger Will Win the Triple Crown in 2012

Baseball / MLB : Bleacher Report - MLB (3 years ago)

The last man to win baseball’s Triple Crown did it in a Red Sox Uniform. This year, it will happen again. When Carl Yastrzemski won the AL Triple Crown in 1967, he did it with a.326 batting average, 44 home runs and 121 RBI. These n... Read Post

Copyright © 2011 Regator, LLC