Post Profile

The strange worlds of the late Harry Crews, novelist

The writer Harry Crews died recently, leaving a legacy of some of the weirdest fiction (and a memoir) you’ve probably never read. Although he wrote in the tradition of Flannery O’Connor and Hunter S. Thompson he never achieved their level...
read more


Related Posts

The Making Of Flannery O’Connor

Politics : The Daily Dish By Andrew Sullivan

James Parker puts Flannery O’Connor’s youthful prayer journals in context, describing her time at the Iowa Writer’s Workshop as where “spiky, brainy Mary Flannery O’Connor from Milledgeville, Georgia, became Flannery O’Connor, write...

A Good Man Was Hard To Find

Politics : The Daily Dish By Andrew Sullivan

"The fiction #writer has to…be aware of the freak in himself." Flannery O'Connor— The UnNovelist (@TheUnNovelist) June 24, 2014 Hilton Als delves into some of the lesser-explored themes in Flannery O’Connor’s ...

How Flannery O'Connor Did Money

Society & Culture : The Awl

"I never believe nothing unless I got the money." — Flannery O'Connor, April 1952 American novelist Flannery O'Connor was real about getting paid. In The Habit of Being, a book of her letters, she writes about theology, literary the...

Musicians Inspired by Harry Crews

Media / Publishing : GalleyCat

When novelist Harry Crews passed away, he left behind novels, magazine articles and a musical legacy.  Classics Rock! compiled a list of all the musicians who were inspired by the late writer. Check it out: In 1989, Kim Gordon (of S...

5 Flannery O’Connor Quotes to Live By

Society & Culture : Flavorwire

Flannery O’Connor, patron saint of short-story writers, is nearly synonymous with the Southern Gothic tradition. O’Connor was a woman of religious conviction and macabre imagination, and she left a long legacy. As another artist fam...


Copyright © 2015 Regator, LLC