Post Profile






The strange worlds of the late Harry Crews, novelist

The writer Harry Crews died recently, leaving a legacy of some of the weirdest fiction (and a memoir) you’ve probably never read. Although he wrote in the tradition of Flannery O’Connor and Hunter S. Thompson he never achieved their level...
read more

share

Related Posts


Harry Potter Lives Forever in Fan Fiction

Media / Publishing : GalleyCat

Novelist and journalist Lev Grossman explored the world of Harry Potter fan fiction with his Time magazine piece, “The Boy Who Lived Forever.” Grossman debunked stereotypes about fan fiction writers and highlighted some famous examp...

Harry Crews Has Died

Media / Publishing : GalleyCat

Novelist Harry Crews has passed away. Above, we’ve embedded a YouTube video of the author talking to Dennis Miller about his time in the military, his E.E. Cummings-inspired tattoo and his Scar Lover novel. He wrote many novels, inc...

How Flannery O'Connor Did Money

Society & Culture : The Awl

"I never believe nothing unless I got the money." — Flannery O'Connor, April 1952 American novelist Flannery O'Connor was real about getting paid. In The Habit of Being, a book of her letters, she writes about theology, literary the...

Musicians Inspired by Harry Crews

Media / Publishing : GalleyCat

When novelist Harry Crews passed away, he left behind novels, magazine articles and a musical legacy.  Classics Rock! compiled a list of all the musicians who were inspired by the late writer. Check it out: In 1989, Kim Gordon (of S...

5 Flannery O’Connor Quotes to Live By

Society & Culture : Flavorwire

Flannery O’Connor, patron saint of short-story writers, is nearly synonymous with the Southern Gothic tradition. O’Connor was a woman of religious conviction and macabre imagination, and she left a long legacy. As another artist fam...

Comments



Copyright © 2015 Regator, LLC