Discover a new way to find and share stories you'll love… Learn about Reading Desk

Post Profile



The strange worlds of the late Harry Crews, novelist

3 years agoArts / Writing : Time to Write

The writer Harry Crews died recently, leaving a legacy of some of the weirdest fiction (and a memoir) you’ve probably never read. Although he wrote in the tradition of Flannery O’Connor and Hunter S. Thompson he never achieved their level...
read more

share

How Flannery O'Connor Did Money

Society & Culture : The Awl (last year)

"I never believe nothing unless I got the money." — Flannery O'Connor, April 1952 American novelist Flannery O'Connor was real about getting paid. In The Habit of Being, a book of her letters, she writes about theology, literary the... Read Post

Musicians Inspired by Harry Crews

Media / Publishing : GalleyCat (3 years ago)

When novelist Harry Crews passed away, he left behind novels, magazine articles and a musical legacy.  Classics Rock! compiled a list of all the musicians who were inspired by the late writer. Check it out: In 1989, Kim Gordon (of S... Read Post

10 Obscure Nonfiction Books by Your Favorite Fiction Writers

Society & Culture : Flavorwire (1 hour ago)

Sure, your favorite fiction writers probably have a book or two of nonfiction in them, be it a collection of essays (personal or critical) or a memoir about what it was like growing up to be them. But what about the outliers, the st... Read Post


Copyright © 2011 Regator, LLC