Discover a new way to find and share stories you'll love… Learn about Reading Desk

Post Profile



Citizen Science Project: TargetAsteroids!

NASA has announced new citizen science project called Target Asteroids! where it will recruit amateur astronomers to monitor asteroids to support the OSIRIS-REx asteroid mission (which amongst other things will return wit a sample of asteroid).You can read the press release here, and go direct to the Target Asteroids! site here.
read more

share

Bolden and Holdren reaffirm support for asteroid mission as the next step to Mars

Academics / Astronomy : Space Politics (5 months ago)

The head of NASA and the President’s science advisor told the NASA Advisory Council (NAC) this week that the agency’s Asteroid Redirect Mission (ARM) remained the next logical step of a long-term strategy to eventually send people t... Read Post

Construction to begin on NASA spacecraft set to visit asteroid in 2018

Academics / Astronomy : TG Daily - Space (6 months ago)

NASA's team that will conduct the first U.S. mission to collect samples from an asteroid has been given the go-ahead to begin building the spacecraft, flight instruments and ground system, and launch support facilities. read more Read Post

Brief mission update: Hayabusa 2 has a launch date!

Academics / Astronomy : Planetary Society Weblog (yesterday)

JAXA announced the launch date for their Hayabusa 2 asteroid sample return mission today: November 30 at 13:24:48 Japan standard time (04:24:48 UT / November 29 at 20:24:48 PST) Read Post


Copyright © 2011 Regator, LLC