Post Profile

The Novelist Disguised As a Housewife

Shirley Jackson wrote 17 books while raising four children — and she couldn't have had a successful career without them.
read more


Related Posts

Point and Click Adventure 'Agent A: A Puzzle in Disguise' Is Set to Receive Three New Chapters as Free Updates by the End of the Year

Mobile / Mobile Apps : Touch Arcade

Back when we reviewed Agent A: A Puzzle in Disguise [$2.99] in November of last year, we were extremely impressed by how entertaining the comic book style point and click adventure title managed to be, all while maintaining its exci...

Savage Love

Entertainment / Books : Slate: Books

Among all the charming stories in Shirley Jackson’s two charming midcentury memoirs of raising four charming children in the charming town of Bennington, Vermont, the one that I urge anyone who might ever want to write about his fam...

Janet Jackson Couldn’t Escape Pregnancy Without Papps Putting her on Blast

Health / Pregnancy : Belly Itch

Janet Jackson was trying her darndest to lay low and off the public radar as she incubated her first child with husband Wissam Al Mana but nope, she couldn’t escape the prying eyes of the camera as successfully as other celebs who h...

Nonfiction: The Case for Shirley Jackson

Entertainment / Books : NYTimes: Books

Ruth Franklin’s new biography views Shirley Jackson as a writer in the tradition of Hawthorne, Poe and James.

Shirley Jackson and her bewitching biography, 'A Rather Haunted Life'

Business & Finance : Money & Co

Much like Nathaniel Hawthorne, a writer she admired, Shirley Jackson was one of the most house-bound of American novelists.  She rarely traveled; one of her last essays was titled "No, I Don't Want to Go to Europe." When she wasn’t ...


Copyright © 2016 Regator, LLC