Post Profile


Out today on Nonesuch is John Adams’s Scheherazade.2, a concerto for violin and orchestra of symphonic proportions. Composed for soloist Leila Josefowicz and the St. Louis Symphony, conducted by David Robertson, it also features Chester Englander as a “shadow soloist” playing cimbalom.   The program is, deliberately one suspects, somewhat veiled, but uncannily timed. It […]
read more

See more about: Leila Josefowicz

Related Posts

Adams in Cincinnati

Music / Classical : The Rest Is Noise

John Adams will lead Leila Josefowicz and the Cincinnati Symphony in his striking new work Scheherazade.2 next week. The dedicated page on the Cincinnati's website provokes a wry smile. Adams is at least sufficiently well known that...

Esa-Pekka Salonen: Violin concerto at the Barbican

Music / Classical : Planet Hugill

Leila JosefowiczPhoto credit: J Henry Fair Sibelius, Salonen and Shostakovich: Leila Josefowicz, BBC Symphony Orchestra, Sakari Orami: The Barbican Centre Reviewed by Hilary Glover on Mar 26 2014 Star rating: 5.0 Esa-Pekka Salonen's...

Three large-scale works to celebrate Colin Matthews' 70th birthday

Music / Classical : Planet Hugill

Colin Matthews Cortege, Violin Concerto, Cello Concerto; Leila Josefowicz, Anssi Karttunen, BBC Symphony Orchestra, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Oliver Knussen, Riccardo Chailly, Rumon Gamba; NMC Recordings Reviewed by Robert Hugi...

Violinist Leila Josefowicz is a powerful storyteller in John Adams' 'Scheherazade.2'

Issues & Causes / Environmentalism : Greenspace

John Adams' "Scheherazade.2," an epic new violin concerto written for Leila Josefowicz and performed by the Los Angeles Philharmonic Thursday night with the composer conducting, was given its premiere in New York in March 2015. A se...

Nightafternight playlist

Music / Classical : The Rest Is Noise

New and recent releases of interest. — John Adams, Scheherazade.2; David Robertson conducting the St. Louis Symphony, with Leila Josefowicz, violin (Nonesuch, released Sept. 30) — Sibelius, Symphonies Nos. 3, 6, 7; Osmo Vänskä condu...


Copyright © 2016 Regator, LLC