Post Profile

Shirley Jackson and her bewitching biography, 'A Rather Haunted Life'

Much like Nathaniel Hawthorne, a writer she admired, Shirley Jackson was one of the most house-bound of American novelists.  She rarely traveled; one of her last essays was titled "No, I Don't Want to Go to Europe." When she wasn’t writing (often in the kitchen between meals) she spent her days...
read more


Related Posts

Shirley Jackson: Novels and Stories

Entertainment / Books : Omnivoracious

This summer the Library of America did the world a favor and released Shirley Jackson: Novels and Stories, as selected by Joyce Carol Oates. The collection includes the novels The Haunting of Hill House and We Have Always Lived in.....

The Leaver: Schenkar on dinners with Shirley Jackson

Academics / Literature : Maud Newton

The WSJ runs Joan Schenkar’s insightful and very funny recollection of her paralyzing admiration for writer (and rumored witch) Shirley Jackson, the wife of her then-professor.

House of the Seven Gables

Lifestyle / Travel : Atlas Obscura

House of the Seven Gables The 340-year-old house that inspired the classic Nathaniel Hawthorne novel Author Nathaniel Hawthorne was born in Salem, MA, and his famous 1851 novel The House of the Seven Gables was based on an actual ho...

Shirley Jackson Is Finally Getting the Appreciation She Deserves

Technology / Programming : Monkey Bytes

In the latest 'Geek's Guide to the Galaxy' podcast, writer Ruth Franklin discusses her new biography of author Shirley Jackson. The post Shirley Jackson Is Finally Getting the Appreciation She Deserves appeared first on WIRED.

Nonfiction: The Case for Shirley Jackson

Entertainment / Books : NYTimes: Books

Ruth Franklin’s new biography views Shirley Jackson as a writer in the tradition of Hawthorne, Poe and James.


Copyright © 2016 Regator, LLC