Post Profile

Nonfiction: The Case for Shirley Jackson

Ruth Franklin’s new biography views Shirley Jackson as a writer in the tradition of Hawthorne, Poe and James.
read more


Related Posts

The 2010 Edgar Award Nominees

Entertainment / Books : Confessions of an Idiosyncratic Mind

Mystery Writers of America is proud to announce on the 201st anniversary of the birth of Edgar Allan Poe, its Nominees for the 2010 Edgar Allan Poe Awards, honoring the best in mystery fiction, nonfiction and television published or...

Book Review Podcast: Kate Atkinson’s ‘A God in Ruins’

Entertainment / Books : Paper Cuts

This week, Tom Perrotta discusses "A God in Ruins," and Ruth Franklin talks about Shirley Jackson.

Open Book: More Than Scary

Entertainment / Books : NYTimes: Books

Ruth Franklin, who’s writing a biography of Shirley Jackson, says of her subject: “She continues to fascinate me every day.”

Tuesday New Release Day: Modiano; Krasznahorkai; Hua; Franklin; Gleick; Springsteen

Entertainment / Books : The Millions

Out this week: The Black Notebook by Patrick Modiano; The Last Wolf & Herman by László Krasznahorkai; Deceit and Other Possibilities by Vanessa Hua; Shirley Jackson by Ruth Franklin; Time Travel: A History by James Gleick; and Born ...

Shirley Jackson and her bewitching biography, 'A Rather Haunted Life'

Business & Finance : Money & Co

Much like Nathaniel Hawthorne, a writer she admired, Shirley Jackson was one of the most house-bound of American novelists.  She rarely traveled; one of her last essays was titled "No, I Don't Want to Go to Europe." When she wasn’t ...


Copyright © 2016 Regator, LLC