Post Profile

Six Inspiring Architectural Projects That Have Revitalized Muslim Communities

An urban park in Denmark to promote tolerance between immigrants and local residents and a mosque in a flood-prone area of Bangladesh were among winners of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture on Monday. The $1 million prize is awarded every three years to honor architectural projects that address the needs of societies in which Muslims have a significant presence. This year’s six winners also included a children’s library in Beijing and a pedestrian bridge in Tehran.
read more

See more about: Aga Khan

Related Posts

Shortlist for the 2013 Aga Khan Award for Architecture Announced

Lifestyle / Green Living : Inhabitat

The shortlist of nominees for the 2013 Aga Khan Award for Architecture were just announced in Spain - and the list includes outstanding projects ranging form a school in Afghanistan to a cemetery in Australia.  Every three years the...

Aga Khan Foundation announces 2016 award for architecture winners

Business & Finance / Real Estate : Curbed

Projects by Zaha Hadid, Bjarke Ingels, more clinch the $1 million, triennially bestowed prize What do a high design public plaza in Copenhagen, a library and arts center in Beijing, and a pedestrian bridge in Tehran have in common? ...

Aga Khan Architecture Award Shortlist Includes Projects by Zaha Hadid, Toshiko Mori, and BIG

Business & Finance / Real Estate : Curbed

They will compete for a $1 million prize If there were ever any doubt that awards season was in full swing—earlier today we introduced to you the winners of RIBA's London Awards—this afternoon brings the announcement of the shortlis...

6 stunning architecture projects receive the 2016 Aga Khan Award

Lifestyle / Green Living : Inhabitat

Friendship Centre by Kashef Mahboob Chowdhury Inspired by one of Bangladesh’s oldest urban archaeological sites, the Friendship Centre was designed by URBANA founder and Bangladeshi architect Kashef Mahboob Chowdhury for an NGO that...

Recipients for the Aga Khan Award for Architecture Named for 2013

Lifestyle / Green Living : Inhabitat

In Lisbon on Friday, five recipients were named for the Aga Khan Award for Architecture. Established back in 1977, the prize divides $1 million amongst the architects. Given every three years, the Award focuses on the revitalization...


Copyright © 2016 Regator, LLC