Post Profile

Algorithmically challenged: the computers driving trading

When the British pound fell off a cliff on Friday morning, it soon became clear what may have been responsible—the computers.
read more


Related Posts

Africa's most important currency has lost 27% in a single day

Business & Finance : Business Insider: Clusterstock

The Nigerian naira fell off a cliff on Monday morning after the Central Bank of Nigeria removed the currency's peg to the dollar. The move was an attempt to devalue it in response to tumbling oil prices. As trading opened for the da...

10 things you need to know before European markets open

Business & Finance : Business Insider: Clusterstock

Good morning! Here's what you need to know. Brexit is still rocking markets. Asian stocks fell and the British pound tumbled more than 2% in early trade on Monday as markets struggled to shake off deep uncertainty sparked by Britain...

'Rogue' Algorithm Blamed for Historic Crash of the British Pound

Technology / Gadgets : Gizmodo

The British pound suffered a “flash crash” earlier this morning in which it plummeted six percent against the US dollar within a matter of minutes. All signs point to high frequency stock trading as the culprit—and possibly a single...

Pound briefly falls over 6% to new 31-year low

Business & Finance : USAToday: Money

The British pound briefly fell to a new 31-year low Friday plunging 6.1% in early Asian trading to a 31-year low against the dollar before recovering. During London hours, it fell 2%.        

The pound just fell off a cliff

Business & Finance : Business Insider: Clusterstock

Sterling is dropping like a stone on Tuesday afternoon. After a fairly sanguine morning for the currency, around 12.50 p.m. BST (7.50 a.m. ET) the pound began to drop sharply against the dollar. As of 2.20 p.m. BST (9.20 a.m. ET) is...


Copyright © 2016 Regator, LLC