Post Profile

Book Review: Not all is as it seems in Margaret Atwood’s earthy adaptation of The Tempest

Hag-Seed is the latest offering from Hogarth Shakespeare, a series that takes Ben Jonson’s quote “He was not of an age, but for all time” seriously and publishes novels by acclaimed and best-selling authors retelling Shakespeare’s plays. Hag-Seed is Margaret Atwood’s contribution—a brilliant retelling of The Tempest that is as enjoyable to read as it must have been for Prospero to watch the storm he created.
read more


Related Posts

What Kind of Novels Did Shakespeare Write?

Entertainment / Books : The New Yorker: Books

In October, the publisher Hogarth rolled out the first in its ambitious new line of Shakespeare plays retold by contemporary novelists. The pairings are promising: Margaret Atwood, a master of ecological dystopias, will reimagine “T...

Book Review: The Taming Of The Shrew retelling Vinegar Girl could use more of the original’s bite

Entertainment / Books : The A.V. Club - Books

Anne Tyler’s Vinegar Girl is a retelling of Shakespeare’s The Taming Of The Shrew, the latest in the Hogarth Shakespeare series in which contemporary novelists adapt the Bard’s plays for a 21st century audience. So it’s likely you a...

Atwood Re-tells Shakespeare

Entertainment / Books : The Millions

Margaret Atwood has signed on to retell Shakespeare’s The Tempest in a new book called Hag-Seed. Check out the cover at The Bookseller. Pair with our interview with Atwood following the release of The Heart Goes Last.

Margaret Atwood's Next Book Is a Prison-Bound Take on The Tempest

Genres / Sci Fi : io9

This year marks 400 years since the death of William Shakespeare, and to commemorate the bard, acclaimed authors are taking some of the most popular plays and retelling them with weird and wonderful twists. Margaret Atwood has revea...

Shakespeare to be revised by Margaret Atwood and Howard Jacobson

Entertainment / Books : LA Times: Books

The publisher Hogarth’s ambitious project to produce novelized retellings of William Shakespeare’s plays has two new authors -- the Man Booker Prize-winning writers Margaret Atwood and Howard Jacobson.


Copyright © 2016 Regator, LLC