Post Profile

CGIAR scientists awarded the prestigious World Food Prize

(HarvestPlus) On Oct. 13, HarvestPlus founding director and ambassador-at-large Howarth Bouis will join three other scientists in receiving the World Food Prize for their work in biofortification. All four laureates have made key contributions to this novel approach to combating vitamin and mineral deficiencies through more nutritious staple crops.These crops include vitamin A-rich varieties of sweet potato, cassava, and maize (corn), high-iron varieties of beans and pearl millet, and zinc-rich rice.
read more


Related Posts

Monsanto CTO Awarded World Food Prize

Business & Finance / Personal Finance : Savings Experiment

An executive at Monsanto has won a prestigious award for aiding the global food supply. Chief Technology Officer Robert Fraley was one of three people to receive the World Food Prize. Fraley and fellow food scientists Marc Van Monta...

Monsanto Crop Biotechnology Reseacher is Among World Food Prize Laureates

News : Reason

Today, the World Food Prize Foundation announced the annual winners of its prestigious award. Among this year's three laureates is Robert Fraley, the Chief Technology Officer at Monsanto. The other two laureates are Marc Van Montagu...

2016 World Food Prize: More Genewashing?

Lifestyle / Green Living : Huffington Post: Green Blog

Yet again, the World Food Prize has lent its global pulpit to the biotech brigade. On Tuesday, June 28, Drs. Maria Andrade, Robert Mwanga, Jan Low, and Howarth Bouis were crowned the 2016 World Food Prize Laureates during a ceremony...

Four CGIAR scientists awarded World Food Prize for combatting micronutrient deficiency

Academics / Biology : EurekAlert: Biology

(International Potato Center / Centro Internacional de la Papa) Biofortification's ability to improve nutrition and health of vulnerable populations internationally recognized. 15 million people reached with biofortified varieties o...

30th @WorldFoodPrize Laureates Honored

Industries / Agriculture : AgWired

Drs. Maria Andrade, Howarth Bouis, Jan Low and Robert Mwanga were awarded the 30th annual World Food Prize last week before an international audience at the Iowa State Capitol in Des Moines. Three of the 2016 laureates were honored ...


Copyright © 2016 Regator, LLC