Post Profile

Quantum physicist Carl M. Bender wins 2017 Dannie Heineman Prize for Mathematical Physics

(American Institute of Physics) The American Institute of Physics (AIP) and the American Physical Society (APS) announced today, on behalf of the Heineman Foundation for Research, Educational, Charitable, and Scientific Purposes, that Carl M. Bender of Washington University in St. Louis is the recipient of the 2017 Dannie Heineman Prize for Mathematical Physics, which is awarded annually to honor significant contributions to the field.
read more


Related Posts

Grand Unification of Mathematics and Physics

Academics / Physics : Not Even Wrong

For a second slogan about quantum mechanics I’ve chosen: Quantum mechanics is evidence of a grand unification of mathematics and physics I’m not sure whether this slogan is likely to annoy physicists or mathematicians more, but in a...

US, French Quantum Physicists Win Nobel

Academics / General Science : Science & Health from Newser

Two quantum physicists have won this year's Nobel Prize for Physics for their work measuring quantum particles, which could one day lead to an ultra-fast computer. Before the work of French scientist Serge Haroche and American David...

Nobel Prize Winner, Ivar Giaever, Resigns from the American Physical Society Over Global Warming Stance

Issues & Causes / Climate Change : DeSmogBlog

Ivar Giaever.jpg On September 14, renowned Nobel Prize winning physicist Ivar Giaever announced his resignation as a Fellow at the American Physical Society ( APS ). The reason? His grievance over their stance on global warming, whi...

Scientists find technique to improve carbon superlattices for quantum electronic devices

Academics / General Science : EurekAlert: Technology Engineering

(University of the Witwatersrand) Researchers at the Nanoscale Transport Physics Laboratory from the School of Physics at the University of the Witwatersrand have found a technique to improve carbon superlattices for quantum electro...

Vanderbilt physicists Keivan Stassun and Kalman Varga elected APS Fellows

Academics / Chemistry : EurekAlert: Chemistry

(Vanderbilt University) Two Vanderbilt physicists, Keivan Stassun and Kalman Varga, have been elected fellows of the American Physical Society.


Copyright © 2016 Regator, LLC