Post Profile

30th @WorldFoodPrize Laureates Honored

Drs. Maria Andrade, Howarth Bouis, Jan Low and Robert Mwanga were awarded the 30th annual World Food Prize last week before an international audience at the Iowa State Capitol in Des Moines. Three of the 2016 laureates were honored for their work in developing the vitamin A-enriched orange-fleshed sweet potato (OFSP). Dr. Andrade and Dr. Mwanga, plant scientists in Mozambique... Read More
read more


Related Posts

World Food Prize Laureates Meet the Press

Industries / Agriculture : AgWired

Three biotechnology scientists are being honored at the World Food Prize ceremony in Des Moines tonight, but yesterday they met the press and answered some tough questions about the technology they have dedicated their lives to deve...

Kevin Folta Awarded Borlaug CAST Communications Award

Industries / Agriculture : AgWired

Dr. Kevin Folta was recognized as the winner of the seventh Borlaug CAST Communication Award (BCCA), and was honored with the award at a World Food Prize side event. Folta gave a memorable keynote address, titled “Unveiling Our Halo...

New NAS Prize For Food & Ag Research

Industries / Agriculture : AgWired

During the 2016 Borlaug Dialogue last week in Des Moines, Iowa, an announcement was made officially launching the first National Academy of Sciences (NAS) prize dedicated to food and agriculture research. The new NAS Prize in Food a...

2016 World Food Prize: More Genewashing?

Lifestyle / Green Living : Huffington Post: Green Blog

Yet again, the World Food Prize has lent its global pulpit to the biotech brigade. On Tuesday, June 28, Drs. Maria Andrade, Robert Mwanga, Jan Low, and Howarth Bouis were crowned the 2016 World Food Prize Laureates during a ceremony...

#FoodPrize16 Awards Announced

Industries / Agriculture : AgWired

Drs. Maria Andrade, Robert Mwanga, Jan Low and Howarth Bouis have been honored with the 2016 World Food Prize.  Their names were announced today at a ceremony at the U.S. State Department where USAID administrator Gayle Smith gave t...


Copyright © 2016 Regator, LLC