Post Profile






The pound is struggling to climb back up after it fell off a cliff

LONDON — The pound is struggling to recoup losses after it fell off a cliff in the late afternoon on Thursday. On Friday at 6.45 a.m. BST (1.45 a.m. ET), the pound was hovering around the $1.29 level against the US dollar. It is not entirely clear why sterling fell off a cliff, but some analysts speculated that the initial surge of the US dollar against the pound was down to the "reemergence of a CSPAN video from earlier in the month that some falsely interpreted as former FBI Director James Comey saying he was never pressured to end an FBI probe.
read more

share

Related Posts


The pound is crashing again

Business & Finance : Business Insider: Clusterstock

Sterling is diving against the dollar again on Thursday lunchtime in London. Here's how the pound looks at 12.30 p.m. BST (7.30 a.m. ET):As you can see, the currency slumped sharply around 11.30 a.m. BST. The fall appears to be more...

The pound tumbles below $1.30

Business & Finance : Business Insider: Clusterstock

The pound is at a 1-month low against the dollar after falling in early trade on Thursday. Sterling is lower by around 0.35% against the dollar to trade at $1.2967 at around 10:45 a.m. BST (5:45 a.m. ET). The pound fell as low as $1...

The pound is falling slightly against the dollar and euro as Britain begins Brexit negotiations

Business & Finance : Business Insider: Clusterstock

LONDON — The pound made small losses against the dollar and euro in early hours trading on Friday, as the Eurozone waits on inflation figures this afternoon and Britain embarks on the first round of Brexit negotiations. The pound is...

Pound Falls on tighter polls

Business & Finance : Business Report

London - The UK election just got interesting for pound raders. Sterling fell against all of its 16 major peers on Friday after a poll showed the Conservative Party’s lead over the main opposition Labour Party has narrowed to five p...

The pound just fell off a cliff

Business & Finance : Business Insider: Clusterstock

Sterling is dropping like a stone on Tuesday afternoon. After a fairly sanguine morning for the currency, around 12.50 p.m. BST (7.50 a.m. ET) the pound began to drop sharply against the dollar. As of 2.20 p.m. BST (9.20 a.m. ET) is...

Comments


Copyright © 2016 Regator, LLC