Post Profile


They've announced that The City in Crimson Cloak-author Asl? Erdo?an will receive this year's €25,000 Erich-Maria-Remarque Peace Prize; previous winners include Nobel laureate Svetlana Alexievich (2001) and Adonis (last year)
read more


Related Posts

What Nobel Laureate Svetlana Alexievich Means to the 'Russian World'

Entertainment / Books : Huffington Post: Books Blog

MOSCOW -- Belarusian author Svetlana Alexievich had long been considered for the Nobel Prize for Literature. However, there is deep symbolism in the fact that she won the award this year for work that the Nobel Committee called "a m...

Break the Document: How Svetlana Alexievich’s Nobel Prize Lecture Illuminates the Year in Literature

Society & Culture : Flavorwire

In her 2015 Nobel Prize lecture, literature laureate Svetlana Alexievich called upon “the sad melodies of the choir” to sing of how the post-Soviet dream of hope “has been replaced by a time of fear.” In doing so, she deliberately r...

Alexievich pick up German Peace Prize

Academics / Literature : The Literary Saloon

Svetlana Alexievich -- the recent betting-favorite for this year's Nobel Prize in Literature -- picked up the Peace Prize of the German Book Trade yesterday. At ZDF you can watch the entire ceremony (in German -- though it's probabl...

Svetlana Alexievich, Nobel laureate 2015

Academics / Literature : The Literary Saloon

Belarusian author Svetlana Alexievich was named this year's Nobel laureate (she'll only officially be awarded the prize at the 10 December Nobel award ceremony); my coverage from yesterday provides many of the basic informational li...


Academics / Literature : The Literary Saloon

The biennial, €25,000 Erich Maria Remarque Peace Prize -- awarded by the city of Osnabrück -- has a mixed but generally solid list of previous winners, and they've now announced that Syrian poet Adonis will get this year's prize (at...


Copyright © 2016 Regator, LLC