Trend Results : Margaret Atwood


Blog Post Results (1-20 of 980)

FILTER RESULTS

'The Handmaid's Tale' is the most-read Kindle book of the year, says Amazon

The online retailer Amazon released its list of the most-read Kindle and Audible books of 2017, with Margaret Atwood's 1985 dystopian novel “The Handmaid's Tale” taking the top spot in the fiction category. Coming in second on the list, which doesn't reflect physical book sales, was Stephen King's...

Roxane Gay, Henry Louis Gates, Margaret Atwood, Hillary Clinton, And Others On The Words That Mattered In 2017

Truth (Gay), roots (Gates), belief (Atwood), empathy (Clinton), ally (Ana Marie Cox), gaslight (Carmen Maria Machado), crossroads (Ellen Pao), collusion (Mitch & Freada Kapor), and others.

The Martians Claim Canada

2 weeks agoHumor / odd : Neatorama

Margaret Atwood (author of The Handmaid's Tale) wrote a short story about Martians who tried to travel to New York to see a Broadway musical, but got lost and landed in Canada. There were no people around, so they talked to a mushroom. Show More Summary

Shorties (Recommended Books for Fans of Margaret Atwood, Two New Songs by the Hold Steady, and more)

BookPage recommended novels for Margaret Atwood fans. The Hold Steady shared two new songs. 22 year-end book lists were added to Largehearted Boy’s master aggregation of “best books of 2017” lists yesterday (bringing the total to 334), including Bookforum...

The Netflix Adaptation Of Margaret Atwood's 'Alias Grace' Shows What Real Horror Is

2 weeks agoArts : Modern Art Notes

The horror is the one reflected in the one painting in the book and adaptation - Guido Reni's Susannah and the Elders. The horror runs through the heart of everything. "Everyone is possessed by the same demon that no one can exorcise. It’s a horror so pervasive and unimaginable that a glimpse of its true […]

Literary Icons Interview Each Other

Year in Reading alum Margaret Atwood interviews Louise Erdrich. They discuss Canada, reproductive rights, their hopes for the future and writing messy characters in a dystopia. Find it in Elle. The post Literary Icons Interview Each Other appeared first on The Millions.

Overrated/Underrated: 'Alias Grace' is essential, and is anyone still shocked by Marilyn Manson?

UNDERRATED 'Alias Grace’: Adapted from a work by novelist Margaret Atwood, this patiently drawn Netflix miniseries also holds a prism up to current times, but unlike “The Handmaid’s Tale,” maybe doesn’t force the viewer into a fetal position of despair for the future. Written by Sarah Polley, whose...

Louise Erdrich channels Margaret Atwood in dystopian 'Living God'

Louise Erdrich's new novel, 'Future Home of the Living God,' is about a dystopian world that wants to control pregnant women. A 3-star book review.        

‘Alias Grace’ Star Sarah Gadon on the Enduring Power of Margaret Atwood

The immersive process of becoming Grace Marks in the critically-acclaimed Netflix adaptation of Margaret Atwood's novel.

Netflix’s ‘Alias Grace’ Confronts a Timely Question: Do You Believe Women?

last monthNews : The Daily Beast

The mystery at the heart of Netflix’s must-watch Margaret Atwood adaptation is less about whodunit and more about confronting our mistrust of women’s stories.

How Does Netflix’s Alias Grace Compare to Margaret Atwood’s Book?

This article originally appeared in Vulture. Spoilers ahead for the book and the series. Netflix’s new Margaret Atwood adaptation Alias Grace is remarkably faithful to Atwood’s original novel. It’s not just a representation of the novel’s plot and characters, although it certainly does that. Show More Summary

Alias Grace: The True Story Behind Grace Marks's Murder Trial

Netflix dropped a new drama in early November titled Alias Grace, based on the 1996 novel by Margaret Atwood, who also wrote The Handmaid's Tale. Atwood's Alias Grace novel is based on real-life events that took place in Canada in the...Show More Summary

The Handmaid's Tale and Alias Grace Make Margaret Atwood the Most Unexpected TV Star of 2017

There are a lot of ways to describe 2017, especially when it comes to TV. The year of the Military Drama. The year Archie Comics got sexy. The year of a thousand reboots. But you could...

Writers urge Trump to seek release of Nobel laureate's wife

Ahead of President Donald Trump's visit to Beijing, literary luminaries such as Margaret Atwood and Philip Roth are calling on China to free the widow of Nobel Peace Prize winner … Click to Continue »

ALIAS GRACE Trailers, Featurettes, Images and Poster

The period drama "Alias Grace" is a six-part miniseries based on the 1996 novel of the same name written by Margaret Atwood. The series is directed by Mary Harron ("American... For more, visit our blog !

Alias Grace is already more than its murder mystery

Sarah Polley, who has adapted Margaret Atwood’s Alias Grace for television, succinctly described the throughline between this Atwood adaptation and that other one that made a splash on Hulu last spring: The Handmaid’s Tale looks to a future where women’s rights have been stripped away, and Alias Grace takes place… Read more...

The Making Of ‘Alias Grace,’ A Margaret Atwood True-Crime Mystery

last monthNews : Huffington Post

How "American Psycho" director Mary Harron brought a harrowing story of female servitude to Netflix.

‘Alias Grace’ is the second Margaret Atwood TV series, with more on the way. Why now?

Writer Sarah Polley and director Mary Harron talk about the timelessness of the “Handmaid’s Tale” author’s work.

SWEEPS DAY NINE!! ALIAS GRACE Hits Netflix!! Almost-Last INHUMANS!! Camping Vs. THE EXORCIST!!

SWEEPS DAY NINE!! ALIAS GRACE Hits Netflix!! Almost-Last INHUMANS!! Camping Vs. THE EXORCIST!! Reiner On MAHER!! Friday TV Talkback!! Read the full article on AICN “Alias Grace” is based on the novel by Margaret Atwood, who also wrote the novel on which this year’s “Handmaid’s Tale” is based. Show More Summary

Alias Grace Reexamines History Told From a "Privileged Perspective"

In the same year that Hulu broke the mold with The Handmaid's Tale, Netflix is taking a crack at another Margaret Atwood novel -- Alias Grace. The book and series tells the story of Grace Marks, a servant woman in Upper Canada in the 1840s who was sentenced to life in prison after being convicted or... Read More > Other Links From TVGuide.com Alias Grace Sarah Gordon Anna Paquin

Copyright © 2015 Regator, LLC