Trend Results : The National Book Award

Blog Post Results (1-20 of 1304)


Josué Rivas Wins 2018 FotoEvidence Book Award

First Nation photojournalist Josué Rivas has won the 2018 FotoEvidence Book Award with World Press Photo for “Standing Strong,” a project about the spiritual awakening that took hold among people resisting the Dakota Access pipeline in 2016. Show More Summary

National Book Foundation Introduces Translation Award

On January 31, the National Book Foundation (NBF) announced that it voted unanimously to establish a fifth National Book Award that would honor fiction and nonfiction translated into English and published in the United States. The National Book Award for Translated Literature fits in with the board’s new mission statement to celebrate the best literature […]

NBA Goes International, Staunch Prize Backlash, and Authors on Air | Book Pulse

The National Book Award changes its line-up and a backlash is simmering around the Staunch prize. Meanwhile, PBS and the NYT announce their next Now Read This book club pick, and new "best of the month" lists appear.

National Book Awards Add Prize For Works In Translation

3 weeks agoArts : Modern Art Notes

"The new category marks a radical departure for awards, which began in 1950 'to celebrate the best of American literature.' The prize will be given jointly to authors and translators, and will be limited to fiction and nonfiction works by living authors that are published in the United States. International authors who write in English […]

National Book Award for Translated Literature

The (American) National Book Foundation has announced that they're adding a fifth prize to the current four, an Award for Translated Literature. Author and translator must be living "at the beginning of the awards cycle" (different from,...Show More Summary

National Book Award for Translated Literature

Nice to see a dedicated site for the Dumbarton Oaks Medieval Library-series, the great Harvard University Press "facing-page translation series designed to make written achievements of medieval and Byzantine culture available to both...Show More Summary

National Book Awards Add Category Honoring Works In Translation

3 weeks agoNews : The Two-Way

The new prize will consider both fiction and nonfiction translated into English and published in the U.S. It's the first addition to the National Book Foundation's annual slate in over two decades.

Books News: The Globalization of the National Book Awards

The foundation is adding a new prize to recognize works in translation.

Ursula K. Le Guin

Topic: Authors Oct 21, 1929 - Jan 22, 2018 Ursula K. Le Guin accepts the National Book Foundation's Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters at the 65th National Book Awards on November 19, 2014.

Oscar Books It and Authors on Air | Book Pulse

The Oscar nominees feature plenty of book adaptations and the finalists for The National Book Critics Circle Awards are announced.

National Book Critics Circle Announces 2017 Finalists

On Monday, January 22, the National Book Critics Circle announced the finalists for its book awards for the publishing year 2017. Embracing six categories, the 30 finalists were for the most part both solidly recognizable and satisfyingly broad, demonstrating strong cultural reach. The fiction titles walk the borders of fracturing worlds, with both Mohsin Hamid’s […]

NBCC Awards finalists

They've announced the finalists for the (American) National Book Critics Circle Awards -- thirty finalists in six categories. No, none of them are under review at the complete review -- though I am planning on getting to The Invention of Angela Carter, at the very least. The Winners will be announced on 15 March.

NBCC Announces 2017 Finalists

The National Book Critics Circle announced their 2017 Award Finalists, and the winners of three awards: the Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award, John Leonard Prize, and Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing. The finalists...Show More Summary

Words Can Sustain and Save Us: The Millions Interviews Marie Howe

Over the course of three books, Marie Howe has established herself as one of the great poets of her generation. Her first book, The Good Thief, was chosen for the National Poetry Series by Margaret Atwood, and awarded the Lavan Younger Poets Prize by Stanley Kunitz. Show More Summary

National Jewish Book Award winners

They've announced the winners of the 2017 (American) National Jewish Book Awards. 'Jewish Book of the Year' went to Lioness: Golda Meir and the Nation of Israel, by Francine Klagsbrun; get your copy or The 'Fiction'...Show More Summary

Author Carmen Maria Machado On Writing Sex Scenes In Her Literary, Genre-Crossing Short Stories

2 months agoArts : Modern Art Notes

Machado's debut book, Her Body and Other Parties was a finalist for the National Book Award, and she was interviewed by the Paris Review about it as well. So of course The Guardian asks her about writing sex. "What's the secret?" the paper asks. The reply: "Letting some sex scenes be pleasurable, letting bodies be […]

Jacqueline Woodson will be America's next National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature

Jacqueline Woodson, the author who won a National Book Award for her young adult memoir “Brown Girl Dreaming,” has been named the National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature. The appointment was announced by the Library of Congress, one of three organizations that selected Woodson, along...

Celebrity Picks: Jason Reynolds' Favorite Reads of 2017

Jason Reynolds writes award-winning books for kids and young adults, and his favorite books of the year include one of this year's National Book Award winners. See all three of his picks and why he chose them.

Books of The Times: Adding Up a Prolific Poet’s Charming Weather Reports

The Complete Poems of A. R. Ammons” showcases, in two very large volumes, the friendly and searching style of a writer who twice won the National Book Award.

The Art of Time Travel wins the 2017 ACT Book of the Year Award

3 months agoAustralia / Canberra : RiotACT

The Art of Time Travel, a book about the written history of Australia, has taken out the 2017 ACT Book of the Year Award at the ACT Writers Centre awards ceremony on Thursday night. Professor of History at the Australian National University, Tom Griffiths, was declared the winner over 30 other entries, with a wide range of genres […]

Copyright © 2015 Regator, LLC