Trend Results : Writers Guild of America

Blog Post Results (1-20 of 602)


It’s Movie Time! This Year Marks the 50th Anniversary of An Astonishingly First-Rate Screenplay. And Even Though the Resulting Movie Won the Oscar for Best Picture of the Year, No One Else Will Be Writing About This Until 2020. Why We are Jumping the Gun

This movie is on the American Film Institute’s 100 Best Movies Ever Made and on the Writers Guild of America’s List of 101 Best Ever Screenplays. Please click here to get the fun, insightful behind-the-scenes story of this classic movie...

Writers Guild of America Finds TV Writer Diversity Still Sucks, Especially in Late Night

3 weeks agoHumor / odd : Geekosystem

After last week's news that TV and film audiences want diversity despite slow progress in making that happen, the findings of the Writers Guild of America are pretty hard to swallow: diversity among TV writers is incredibly low, and late night shows have the worst numbers.

Women and minorities' share of TV writing jobs lower, guild says

The 2013-14 TV season showed no progress in the hiring of female and minority writers, according to the Writers Guild of America, West. 

WGA Report: Far Fewer Jobs For Women, Minorities, Older TV Writers

The number of jobs for women, minority and older TV writers took a nose dive last year, according to a new study by the Writers Guild of America, West. "Women and minorities have actually lost ground as compared to their white male counterparts,"...Show More Summary

Hollywood Cheers New Net Neutrality Rules

“This is clearly a victory for everyone — not just Hollywood, but everyone who uses the Internet,” said Chris Keyser, president of the Writers Guild of America, West. “It is a critical moment in the ongoing fight for free expression and robust competition.”

Last Of Us: Left Behind Wins Writers Guild Award

Naughty Dog has won yet another award for The Last Of Us. The survival horror adventure's Left Behind DLC was one of the winners at the Writers Guild of America awards over the weekend.Click To Continue Reading

WGA Awards Memorialize Cancelled TV Shows of 2014

The Writers Guild of America Awards were handed out on Saturday night.

‘Grand Budapest,’ ‘Imitation Game’ top 2015 WGAs

In an awards season dominated by “Boyhood” and “Birdman,” the Writers Guild of America on Saturday honored two different choices.

'Grand Budapest Hotel' & 'Imitation Game' Take 2015 WGA Awards

With just one week to go until the 87th Academy Awards, the Writers Guild of America has chimed in with the winners of the 2015 WGA Awards. Last year, the top honors in film resulted in Her and Captain Phillips taking home the original and adapted screenplay awards with Stories We Tell taking home the documentary screenplay honors. Show More Summary

‘Grand Budapest Hotel,’ ‘Imitation Game’ Win Big at Writers Guild Awards

Oscar nominees “The Grand Budapest Hotel” and “The Imitation Game” were among the winners at the Writers Guild of America’s awards Saturday.

‘The Imitation Game’ and ‘The Grand Budapest Hotel’ top Writers Guild of America Awards

The Grand Budapest Hotel won best original screenplay and The Imitation Game won best adapted screenplay at the Writers Guild of America awards on Saturday. The post ‘The Imitation Game’ and ‘The Grand Budapest Hotel’ top Writers Guild of America Awards appeared first on Rickey - Entertainment News and Videos.

WGA Awards 2015: 'The Grand Budapest Hotel' and 'The Imitation Game' take top honors

At its annual awards show, one of the final bellwethers before the Academy Awards, the Writers Guild of America honored Wes Anderson’s “The Grand Budapest Hotel,” a quirky fable about a feud over a widow's fortune, and Morten Tyldum's “The Imitation Game,” the...

Stewart Stern, 'Rebel Without a Cause' screenwriter, dies at 92

2 months agoSports / Baseball : Dodgers Now

Hollywood screenwriter Stewart Stern, best known for his work on "Rebel Without a Cause," starring James Dean, died Monday, according to the Writers Guild of America, West. He was 92.

Margaret Nagle To Receive WGAW’s Paul Selvin Award For ‘The Good Lie’

The Good Lie screenwriter Margaret Nagle will be the recipient of this year’s Paul Selvin Award, the Writers Guild of America, West announced today. Named after the late Paul Selvin, general counsel to the Guild for 25 years, the award...Show More Summary

Ben Affleck To Receive WGA West’s Valentine Davies Award

The Writers Guild of America, West has tapped screenwriter-director-actor-producer Ben Affleck to receive the WGAW's 2015 Valentine Davies Award in recognition of his humanitarian efforts and service to the global community. He willShow More Summary

Big names dominate Writers Guild Award nominations

Anyone that's of the belief that mainstream videogames are often devoid of great writing will need to look somewhere other than the Writers Guild of America for vindication. The organization's nominees for Outstanding Achievement inShow More Summary

The DGA Nominations Are Out, and Once Again There’s No Love for Selma

As Nate Silver observed in 2013, the Directors Guild of America Award is the awards season’s most successful predictor of a Best Picture win at the Oscars. (Like the Producers, Writers, and Screen Actors Guilds, the DGA’s membershipShow More Summary

WGAW To Honor The Late Harold Ramis With Screen Laurel Award

The Writers Guild of America, West has chosen late screenwriter-director-actor-producer Harold Ramis to receive its Laurel Award for Screenwriting Achievement, awarded to a Writers Guild member who has advanced the literature of motion pictures and made outstanding contributions to the profession of the screenwriter. Show More Summary

Assassin's Creed, The Last of Us, Alien get Writers Guild nods

The Writers Guild of America has nominated Alien: Isolation, The Last of Us: Left Behind, Assassin's Creed: Unity and Assassin's Creed: Freedom Cry for the 2015 award recognizing outstanding achievement in video game writing. Winners will be announce...

Writers Guild Nominates Assassin's Creed, Others for Award

Four games have been nominated as part of the Writers Guild of America's award for Outstanding Achievement in Videogame Writing.

Copyright © 2015 Regator, LLC